Moving house

   Welcome to the new site. Please update your links and bookmarks to reflect our new address. Getting to be very mobile in cyberspace. Tired of fuming about the limitations of LiveJournal, tired of watching my blog over there get bigger and bigger while I dither and fret. Livejournal is HISTORY. By a superhuman feat of technology subduance, I managed to get my LJ posts transferred over here in toto. The casualties were the comments, very sad in many cases, so please add lots of pithy new ones over here.

   Will this be the place I settle?  Will WordPress do what Livejournal failed to do? (Which would be, make me happy.  Heh.) This is the new skin I have chosen from the WordPress bouquet for the moment. It’s called Quentin.  “An older feeling and dignified theme,” says its blurb. Good. I can think of nothing better than being regarded as old and dignified, so kindly take your cue from Quentin.

9 thoughts on “Moving house

  1. juliecarter says:

    What if Quentin doesn’t like me?

  2. I asked him and he does. Like you, I mean. Thanks for stopping by. Nic

  3. Scavella says:

    Yay-hey! Wilkommen!

    The nice thing about starting out on Blogger is that comments, etc, do transfer over. I’ve moved one blog several times. It’s a long story, and not for telling under this pseudonym.

    Anyway, since you’re the first person I know over on wordpress, I added you to my friendsurfer thingie. (One of the reasons I came over here was that WP seemed more grown-up than the other blog offerings. However, tagsurfer and friendsurfer are rather adolescent in their terminology. Not to worry.

    Scavella’s Blosphere will follow, soon as I decide what to do with the stuff I can’t take with me. Like StatCounter. Which I love, by the way.

    Salud!

  4. Hey Scavella! So glad you made it over. Was going to leave a big bannner on the old site: THIS IS SCAVELLA’S FAULT, but thought that might be a bit rude, even if true, heh. Thanks for pushing me to the push. I’ve burned all the LiveJournal bridges, so this *will* work, one way or another. I added you and Julie to the friendsurfer thing and nothing exploded, so hopefully that’s a good sign. All best, Nic

  5. juliecarter says:

    You get to have rss feeds and everything. My feeds are broken. They point and laugh.

  6. January says:

    Hi Nic. Thanks for stopping by. I like your new space, and I’ve updated my link. I haven’t been by in a while so I need to read a few of your most recent posts.

    Hope you had a nice Thanksgiving.

  7. Scavella says:

    Question – how did you export your posts on LiveJournal?

  8. See this link: http://wordpress.com/blog/2006/06/01/livejournal-import/

    LiveJournal lets you save your posts as XML documents (month by month, unfortunately), which you can then easily import into WordPress. As noted, the comments get lost. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

