This song looks like we’re in China

Says my six-year-old, listening to the radio. Sometimes I really really want to know how his mind works. Other times, I’m glad I don’t.

We’ve just watched Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat. Donny Osmond as Joseph! Joan Collins as Potiphar’s wife! Barrels of fun, quirky and entertaining. 

Intrigued as always by Potiphar’s wife, one of those shadowy biblical figures that shimmer into and out of view in a few lines, but still retain a high urban myth value.  Like Pilate’s wife in Matthew and Vashti in Esther. No name given to Mrs. Potiphar in the Bible, although I read that in the Qur’an she is known as Zuleika.  

5 thoughts on “This song looks like we’re in China

  1. twitches says:

    I’d think anything with Donny Osmond and Joan Collins in it would be worth watching.

  2. Scavella says:

    Relax. Sounds like your kid is a synaesthete.

    It’s a fun thing to be.

    I’m one too. Mine is different from his.

  3. Twitches – I thought they both did a great job, although my son did not like Donny/Joseph (after all, he was a tattle-tale goody two shoes) and voted instead for unknown actors Benjamin and Judah.

    Scavella — I hope you’re right.That would be totally cool.

  4. SarahJ says:

    that’s funny. I saw Donny Osmond play Gaston in Beauty and Beast recently on a trip to the states and he was, um, not bad.

    can i borrow your kid?

  5. Any time, but especially on weekend mornings between 6:00am (the time he wakes up) and 9am (the time I wish I could wake up).

Leave a Reply

