what makes difficult difficult

I just love this post. I love the way it folds loud giant messy things into quiet little boxes, and I don’t mean that in a bad way. Sometimes it’s just what you need to see a whole forest (and I mean a humming rainforest, with birds of paradise creepers vines macaws anacondas and steamy rivers – maybe I even mean a jungle) packed into small labeled rows before you, even though you know the whole roaring kaleidoscope thing will come leaping out at you in full stink as soon as you even think about opening one of them.

It’s a tidy moment. Sometimes they’re just what you need. (Hat tip, Rob.)

One thought on “what makes difficult difficult

  1. I’m so glad your post pointed me to the one on poetic difficulty. What a huge pleasure to read such crisp descriptions! It’s set in motion a thought that may become a post on my own blog. Your description of your own response to it seems to me almost like a juicy prose poem, but that’s possibly because I’m looking for them everywhere now that I’ve been reminded of the genre by Poetry Thursday.

Leave a Reply

