Un jardin sur le Nil

By Hermès

The notes are
green mango, lotus flower,
aromatic rushes, incense,
sycamore wood.

It starts with a buzz
of citrus (grapefruit?
maybe some lime?)
and intense green notes;
the green mango
lends some fruitiness
but is thankfully
not overly sweet.

The citrus fades, leaving
a high-pitched green
over a woody base.
I cannot make out
the lotus flower at all.

Sheer but deep, a watery
aquatic feel, a woody base note
and a touch of spice -
this is a very dry fragrance,
with a slightly spicy-peppery
undertone.

It smells very fresh.

<><><>

A found poem from Now Smell This, a fascinating blog about perfume.

Some daring person (how does anyone dare to even begin to guess what scent someone else might like!?) recently gave me a bottle of Un Jardin Sur Le Nil and I have to say I am more and more taken by it. It’s an off-beat scent for an olfactory risk-avoider like me, who for years has rarely worn anything other than your basic Eau de Givenchy (whose notes are bergamot, spearmint, tagetes, greens, fruits, honeysuckle, jasmine, lily of the valley, tuberose, rose, cyclamen, orris, musk, cedarwood, sandalwood, and moss).

Hm. Has Staple Scent No. 2 now entered my life?

7 thoughts on “Un jardin sur le Nil

  1. twitches says:

    Get the hell out of here – I didn’t know you were a perfume lover, too! I totally remember reading that review and am completely pissed I didn’t think of turning perfume reviews into poetry before you did! Grr. Not that I’m competitive or anything…

    Anyway, I love Now Smell This and read it every day. However, I’m a scent whore who has very few loyalties, other than Black Orchid and La Chasse by L’Artisan.

  2. G says:

    You two are hilarious.

  3. sarahj says:

    great post, and love Now Smell This! I love reading about smells – so good for the imagination.
    I’m your standard Chanel 5, I’m afraid, but that’s a very night fragrance. Days I wear Clinique’s Aromatics Elixer. It’s got a spicy down note.
    smile

  4. Too funny. I’m actually severely olfactorily-challenged and really need things like “Now Smell This” to widen my olfactory horizons. How insane and boring is it to wear pretty much one scent for 20 years in a row?!

  5. sarahj says:

    well there’s an old quote by some designer or other that says “when the lights are out what’s left of a woman but her voice and her perfume?” so if you stop talking, at least you’ll be identifiable.

  6. jillypoet says:

    My father is a cologne madman. He is 78 and wears many different, current scents, he prowls the men’s fragrance section at the mall. His quest is to amass a stockpile of Quorum balm. Hard to find. Thanks for giving me the idea to write about him and his fragrances!

  7. [...] Not saying that I would like to wear the perfume (in fact, probably not), but what a lovely list of ingredients and with so much potential. That review could be a million times better written. If I were a perfume-maker, I’d hire a poet to write my website reviews.  I’d present them as poems. A good perfume *is* a poem. (Remembering these posts: Lessons for your poem from Perfume FAQ and this found poem.) [...]

Leave a Reply

