Bad Mother Emergency

I am such a lemming. Whale Child and I were reading Orlando Keeps A Dog last night for the trazillion gamillionth time when I suddenly suffered a massive attack of guilt over how little poetry we read together (I think Tinkle’s Robin Redbreath poem did it).

Luckily, this article fed itself opportunely into my inbox and I swiftly made the following order in the early watches of this morning:

Comets, Stars, the Moon, and Mars: Space Poems and Paintings
Douglas Florian

Animal Poems
Valerie Worth

This is Just to Say: Poems of Apology and Forgiveness
Joyce Sidman

Bronzeville Boys and Girls
Gwendolyn Brooks

The test of the lemming pudding will be in the eating. We do not fear the unknown.

Bring ‘em on!

4 thoughts on “Bad Mother Emergency

  1. angie says:

    Thanks for those, Nic. I’ll be getting them shortly for my munchkins.

  2. Oh good. Look forward to seeing how they work (or don’t)!

  3. [...] a thing. We got the first of the kid poetry books I ordered in a fit of guilt a week or so ago. It was Comets, Stars, the Moon, and Mars: Space Poems and Paintings by Douglas [...]

  4. [...] This is Just to Say: Poems of Apology and Forgiveness, by Joyce Sidman, illustrated by Pamela Zagarenski. One of several kid poetry books I ordered for Whale Child in a fit of guilt a while ago. [...]

Leave a Reply

