Sound

Trying out metrical reading on A Sound Blog. The stuff I find I really want to read is not BV at all (yay for anapests and Annabel Lee and The Destruction of Sennacherib!) so here’s a compromise – Marvell (in IT, thanks, Harry), because Marvell is mostly fun (he’s the one with the lady raving over entrails in a cave. With horrid care, no less.)

I’m mulling over a passage in heroic couplets (thanks, Harry) – from Pope’s Essay on Criticism – that I may record and put up later. Or not.  

I have to say that some of that old BV stuff (Milton, Keats, Shelley, anyone?) is seriously unenthralling. At the moment.

5 thoughts on “Sound

  1. Harry says:

    The Marvell isn’t in IP and Pope’s Essay On Criticism isn’t in blank verse. I know, pedantic of me, but these things do make a difference.

  2. Harry! So cool to see you here. Many thanks for the corrections — much appreciate the input.

  3. angie says:

    Please do read Annabel Lee if you ever have the whim again.

  4. You’re asking for it!!

  5. angie says:

    I am! It’s one of my very favorite poems and I’d love to hear you read it.

Leave a Reply

