Engaging the internet on the internet’s terms

Preferring cozying up to the internet to getting into a fight with it, here’s a new poetry magazine with an up-to-the-minute approach: Cold Front Magazine.  And their daily This Morning page has an a RSS feed so I can read it via Bloglines, the way I read all the blogs I follow!   (Hat tip: Deborah Ager.)

Update: All their pages have feeds. Am I the only one who is totally amazed that Poetry Daily and Verse Daily don’t have RSS feeds? Way to become quickly irrelevant in this day and age, or what. 

7 thoughts on “Engaging the internet on the internet’s terms

  1. Well, it’s only a year or two ago that hardly anyone had even heard of RSS, so it’s not completely surprising that some people are struggling to keep up. I am rather amazed that NASA’s Astronomy Picture of the Day doesn’t have it’s own RSS feed, though.

  2. With time counted in minutes and hours on the internet, wouldn’t having trouble hooking up with two-year-old technology be considered a fairly major handicap for anyone aspiring to an effective internet presence?

  3. It’s a bit feeble. I suspect the problem for them is that they’re running on old hand-written websites and would need to make their own homebrewed solution for how to produce an RSS feed. i.e. because they were ahead of the curve when they started the websites they’ve made life hard for themselves; whereas now you’d just set the site up in something like WordPress from the start and that would make it a great deal easier to add technical features.

    Or they might just be oblivious or technically inept.

  4. Thank you for the mention. I’m delighted that you enjoy Coldfront. I need to get organized about my RSS feeds. Do you use a Google reader? I have some there but I tend to just use my blog roll; the disadvantage is that I don’t get titles and sometimes click on blogs that have not been updated. Using RSS would be about 100% more efficient.

Leave a Reply

