a talking blue smell

book2.jpg

book1.jpg

OK, we’re getting somewhere. Here’s my latest attempt at a Coptic binding. I’m practising with A Talking Blue Smell, which is my poetry manuscript. Its contents change each time I reset the text for a different kind of binding. I haven’t made a title label for this copy yet.

I’m now working on a regular Codex binding which, as my bookbinding book says, “is the type of book that we generally think of when we imagine a book. The signatures are sewn together at the spine, and they’re protected by a hard cover on the front, spine and back.”

My favorite part is the sewing. There’s something very satisfying about sewing thick paper with waxed linen thread and a curved needle.

Bookbinding tools are beautiful. I want a sewing frame for Christmas, everyone.

I wrote a poem for my little brother and bound it in its own little book and mailed it to him. It said things I should have said to him years ago. I hope it was a good idea.

One thought on “a talking blue smell

  1. Matt Merritt says:

    Intriguing title for the MS – always a good start. And I like the look of the binding – it’s sent me off looking up all sorts of things on the net. Makes me realise how much I like books as physical objects in themselves.
    Great blog!

Leave a Reply

