How Blogs Die

Not sure I completely agree with this analysis. At least not where frequency/regularity of posting is concerned. By which measure this blog should be dead many times over. 

One thought on “How Blogs Die

  1. I don’t agree at all.

    The analysis applies to all journals. Back in the day before the internet, when diaries were books that you carried around with you and that were not in any sense public (some came with locks) the same issues applied. And the same numbers of people fell away, usually during the middle of the year when the newness of the book and of the new year’s resolution wore off.

    The artificial pressure of writing something every day is difficult to deal with. But long ago I resolved that problem by writing down what I needed to write when I needed to write it. During my teens and twenties I kept my journals faithfully — not on a daily basis, but writing when it was necessary and right, and learning to observe like a writer.

    And then I met a man, and my life was not solely my own any more, and the habit I had of extending my thoughts and feelings and life to a book was challenged. Now I had somebody else’s life interwound with mine, and I consciously decided to stop writing.

    Blogs are not diaries. They are public from the beginning. If they are treated as diaries, then they will survive as diaries always did. Their deaths become more public, but they are not necessary. They survive if and when people decide that they should.

    Simple, really.

Leave a Reply

