nanopress update

I’m up to my eyebrows in my own poems, picking them apart and putting them back together under Jill’s no-quarter laser editing pen. Some of them aren’t surviving the process, poor things, but others are emerging stronger. My brain is having to morph (creaking) in new directions over many questions, including that of poem order. This is quite an emotional process.

Beginning to think about cover art. Saw something today I would really like to use and have sent off a query. Fingers crossed. (And if you happen to have any cover art options lying around looking for a poetry collection to grace, let me know!)

For new readers: The full nanopress story.

6 thoughts on “nanopress update

  1. mattiespillow says:

    Interesting choice to co-publish with an editor. How many copies will you print–or will you do only on-line publication? If print, how will you distribute them?

    Interesting discussion on putting poems on a blog, since I have just started blogging and have posted poems for my few readers to read, but never thought of that as competing publication.

    Can I post a link to your blog on my blog ?

  2. Hey mattiespillow — the idea is to use a print on demand mechanism (lulu.com or similar) with probably a pdf download available online as well. Please do link away!

  3. mattiespillow says:

    Thanks, I will. I’m posting links to writers, dancers, artists, gardeners, and horse people, and writing about as much of it as I can. It’s on .

    Print on demand is the way most small presses are going–a melding of the computer and the old-fashioned book-as-object. I look forward to following your progress.

  4. Annie says:

    I completely understand the whole art thing, Nic. Maybe I can help out in some way? Lord knows I have been looking at enough of it lately. Let me know–would be a pleasure.

  5. You’re the best, Annie! The response to my query above has been kind and positive, and am now running the image by my partner in crime. I’m pretty sure we’re good, but if not, I will definitely coming running to you. Thanks much! Nic

  6. Annie says:

    Oh cool! I will keep my fingers crossed for you.

Leave a Reply

