Amy’s poetry/technology idea

Amy wrote: “If every poet were to record just one book of poems that they loved for the rest of us to listen to, and not just their own poems, how excellent would that be?”

I’m picking up positive reactions to this idea in different online venues today. One representative observation:

Now that wouldn’t be so hard, would it? I mean, they don’t have to be famous poets who do the recordings, do they? It would be easy to get it disseminated on iTunes wouldn’t it? Just do it as a podcast? I’m tellin’ ya, if I were retired, I’d grab that ball and run with it. And I’d love to pick a book I love and record it — though there’d be the issue of permissions, I guess.

I’d be up for it, for sure. Emily Dickinson, Sharon Olds, Sarah Manguso – think of it! A question of bandwidth, maybe? And permissions…

4 thoughts on “Amy’s poetry/technology idea

  1. Dave Bonta says:

    Permissions might be the only hard or expensive part. I recommend WordPress.com as a cheap and extremely reliable place to store audio, even for those who have self-hosted blogs on shared-hosting servers. I wrote a how-to post on audio podcasting, including how to get it in the iTunes store, a couple months ago: http://www.vianegativa.us/2010/01/literary-podcasting-made-simple-with-wordpress-com/

  2. Many thanks for this, David. This is definitely a project to keep in the collective thought. I’ll certainly continue to mull it over. Best, Nic

  3. renkath says:

    John Burroughs, aka Jesus Crisis, has done quite a few videopoems of himself reading the work of other poets. He read Pessoa in bed, which I thought would be a great starting place for a series of “bedtime” poems videos.

    http://crisisblog.crisischronicles.com/2010/03/06/in-bed-with-pessoa–disquiet-64-65-66.aspx

  4. [...] ties in somehow sorta to Amy King‘s technology idea.) Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)10 Questions on Poets and Technology – John [...]

Leave a Reply

