home again, home again

Finally back home after a long road-trip, internetting on the fly, not eating properly, barely exercising and reading much less than I had hoped. On the plus side of the ledger, I did finish Trollope’s Dr. Thorne and To the North by Elizabeth Bowen and also managed a fair amount of quite detailed tree-identifying.

On the flight home I read Prufrock and watched Tim Burton’s new Alice in Wonderland. The latter I thought well worth the time, with great interpretations by Johnny Depp and Helena Bonham-Carter, tremendous visuals, and of course, the brilliant dottiness of Carroll’s language + Burton’s direction underpinning it all. Not sure why I was reminded of Alice, reading Prufrock afterwards.

And when I am formulated, sprawling on a pin,
When I am pinned and wriggling on the wall,
Then how should I begin
To spit out all the butt-ends of my days and ways?

2 thoughts on “home again, home again

  1. Just so you know, Very Like a Whale, your discussion (and that of Reb Livingston) concerning poems posted only to blogs helped change the policy at The Dead Mule School of Southern Literature. We now accept poems that have ben posted only to personal blogs and ask only that they be removed prior to submission and remain removed for one month after publication in The Dead Mule.

Leave a Reply

