hi-tech new Whale Sound feed – with audio player!

I changed (was obliged to change by glitches in the original, are you listening, Hipcast?) the online audio storage mechanism for Whale Sound and now I see that the Whale Sound feed suddenly features a nifty audio player for each post! So you don’t have to go to the actual site to hear the poems. This wasn’t happening with my previous audio host.

I welcome it, even though it means less actual visits to Whale Sound itself. I’ve long read all the blogs I read through Google reader and get aggravated when the content is formulated in a way that forces me (if I’m interested enough) to leave the reader and click through to the blog itself.

8 thoughts on “hi-tech new Whale Sound feed – with audio player!

  1. Dave Bonta says:

    Since you’re using the default audio player now, you don’t have to list the total time if you want to, because one of the options is to have it show the remaining time rather than the elapsed time–i.e. have it show the total time at the beginning, and count down to zero. This is done by adding “|remaining=yes” inside the shortcode, after the file URL. See the bottom of this page: http://en.support.wordpress.com/audio/

    • Oh very neat! Thanks for the tip. I will definitely add that feature to the audio player. Unfortunately, the total time doesn’t show up on the player until you click and activate it. Now I think it through, I will probably keep listing the total time up front, to tell the reader before they click how much time they will invest if they do click. (I’m a pathetic time-freak, I know…)

  2. Dave Bonta says:

    This also means that your feed can be read by podcatchers. You could submit it to iTunes as a podcast if you want. In iTunes, go to ITunes store, choose Audio Podcasts from the Podcasts dropdown, and then in the Quick Links section on the upper right, click on Submit Podcast. Before you do so, however, I’d advise getting a blavatar for Whale Sound — be sure it’s 128px square — so your podcast will have an image associated with it in iTunes.

Leave a Reply

