Whale Sound submissions etc

Whale Sound has received 21 submissions in the last four days. Nine of them (that’s 42%) were sent in on behalf of someone else. Thank you, all you generous people!

I just posted Friday’s readings, ending the Whale Sound week. This week featured 15 readings, three per weekday. Still exploring what is a manageable operational tempo for Whale Sound and feeling surprised at how much work it all is. As well as the actual recording and the editing of recordings, there’s all the correspondence, reading submissions, trawling for work I’d like to solicit and then (sooo tedious), preparing the html for both the bios and the postings themselves.

Viewer stats are looking good – last Friday was the busiest day ever to date, with 381 views, and yesterday wasn’t bad either, with 341 views. The Top 20 Whale Sound posts are shifting around as new ones come online and older ones rack up hits. I’ll wait till the end of the month and post the revised list through October.

8 thoughts on “Whale Sound submissions etc

  1. Dave Bonta says:

    Yeah, I don’t know how you manage this current pace. Contacting all the poets is the part I’d find most daunting, and it occurs to me that one of the main reason there aren’t more sites like this (not that many could do it as well) is that so many of us who are into poetry are pretty introverted.

    • Interesting observation. Actually I find the contacting part is the easiest, probably because I’ve had so much practice badgering poets to participate in the different Ten Questions series! (I do consider myself introverted, though, I must say). The gruesomest part really is the html, for me. I have a nice html editor, but what I really need an interactive form where I can just punch in poet specifics and it will spit out the bio in html for me. And upload it too, at the right spot in the index page, preferably.

  2. Maureen says:

    I very much appreciate all the effort you put into Whale Sound. It’s a wonderful resource.

  3. Jessie carty says:

    Those are impressive numbers! The loading of bios and all, for me, is the most time consuming part as an editor too!

  4. Shelley says:

    I’d kill for stats like that.

    Be happy!

  5. Nicholas Liu says:

    Just checking: I’m guessing it’s significantly less trouble for you if an author submits on her/his own behalf? I have a couple of suitable-seeming poems in mind, but since I know the poets I figure I might as well just prod them into submitting for themselves.

    Needless to say I think what you’re doing is pretty fantastic. I’m glad to hear it’s getting a bit of the attention it deserves!

  6. Dear Nic, I would like you to read my poem in DIDI MENENDEZ’ new October issue of ORANGES&SARDINES (poetsandartists.com). It is online
    entitled
    ANGLE WIND DRIFT SEA (pg. 19)
    I could not see where to submit elsewhere.Thank you.. Grace Cavalieri

Leave a Reply

