Are you a Web-Active Poet?

Okay, how’s this for a definition?

If #1 below and at least two of the remaining items accurately characterize you, you are a Web-Active Poet:

1. A good portion of your finished work is freely available online (on yours/others’ blogs/sites or in online poetry journals).
2. You check and respond to email at least once a day.
3. You have a comment-enabled blog that you update at least twice a week.
4. You have a Facebook/Twitter/other online social network account that you check/post on at least twice a week.
5. You have a website that consistently displays current contact info and material.

16 thoughts on “Are you a Web-Active Poet?

  1. I’m weaker on #1 and #5, but getting there. I’m shyer and more solitary by nature, but generally people can find me somehow. I don’t (yet?!) tweet, and I am technologically challenged, but I love finding and reading poets on the web!

  2. Maureen says:

    Because so many lit mags and journals will not consider or accept work that has appeared on a blog (I learned this the hard way, having posted quite a bit of my work), many poets will refrain from posting new work online and quite a few will not post any work or will post on their sites only a piece or two published by a commercial press. Also, although change is occurring slowly, quite a few lit mags with an online presence do not make the work accessible, or only very little of it, because they want print subscribers. I am hopeful this will change when enough poets decide that it will be they who determine where their poetry will appear.

    Very “web active”, I am involved with a number of different groups of poets who use all social media and regularly hold poetry jams on Twitter.

  3. Hey Maureen! Good to hear from you. By ‘freely available online’ I meant both own-blog/own-site postings *and* work in online poetry journals (mostly the latter, really). Not sure I agree with you about “quite a few” online lit mags limiting work — there are certainly a few, but they are definitely very much in the minority, in my view. My experience is that most online lit mags make all their content freely available, and the ones that tend to limit content are actually originally print mags trying to branch out into the online world.

    • jessiecarty says:

      I’d second what you say here. I had fun reading this and realizing: I’m pertty web active! Yay for me :) Although I wish it was safer to put your email address so people could click through and email you on your blog but I get enough spam without doing that!

      • Agree – it’s not an easy balance to strike, for sure. Some resolve the tension by renouncing it, while some (Web-Active Poets, yay!) engage in the struggle on a continuing basis to set tension levels in ways that maximize the signal-to-noise ratio.

  4. didimenendez says:

    Ron Silliman does not fall under section three paragraph one any longer….Tee hee…I could not resist that.

    Didi

  5. I’ve been surprised myself on occasion to find who is in that category.

  6. whale sound is a grand example of what good things can happen because of the internet. i wouldn’t be hearing so many poems (good poems) read if it weren’t for the internet – (whale sound).

    tim green re: poems on his blog: http://www.timothy-green.org/blog/2010/09/this-is-the-line/

  7. YAY for web active poets! I am happy to say I am in that camp, definitely.

    I saw Maureen’s comment regarding journals not accepting previously published work. I frequently remove work from my own site in order to further edit it and submit it elsewhere–poets using their sites as sketchbooks seems so useful.

  8. You definitely are, Hannah! I agree on the ‘sketchbook’ notion.

  9. I’ve just discovered your blog, by way of Willow’s http://willowmanor.blogspot.com/

    Nice to meet you. :-)

    I think I’m a web active poet, by your criteria. (No facebook or twitter lol)

Leave a Reply

