baobab girl

Finally, my tree poem chapbook, baobab girl, is READY. Now to figure out where to send it. It has 16 poems in it, nine of which have already been published in some nice places. There were 18, but I had to ditch frangipani and willow – I don’t where they thought they were going. I also abandoned the idea of titling each poem only with the English name/Latin name of each tree (which became dull, frankly). Coming up with new titles was fun, but exhausting, and I know it will result in people reading some of the poems and going, wait, this was a poem about a tree? To which I will respond: YES. They are ALL poems about trees! (In a way.)

So glad to feel that’s done, done. I have this primal urge to clear the decks, get the old stuff out, leave space for the new.

16 thoughts on “baobab girl

  1. I think Anabiosis Press would be very interested in your tree chapbook, but it has an annual summer deadline.

    http://www.anabiosispress.org/chapguides.html

    Plus, the editor’s blog looks exactly like yours!

    http://albatrosspoetryjournal.wordpress.com/

    He is the editor of Albatross poetry journal, so, in the meantime, you might send him some of the unpublished tree poems. Albatross is a small print magazine that also goes up online….

  2. Maureen says:

    Congratulations.

    Try the Finishing Line Press competition.

  3. hey, i’ve been wondering when all the tree poems would come together. sign me up for a copy when they are published.

    kathleen and maureen both offered good suggestions. also, amsterdam press does some cool hand-ons work you might consider for this collection of very earthy words.

  4. I’m excited to read these, Nic! I’ll keep an eye out for other publisher suggestions…

  5. Aha! How about the Black River Chapbook Competition from Black Lawrence Press (deadline is Oct. 31)?

    http://blacklawrence.com/BRCCContestPage.html

  6. Nancy Devine says:

    who will read your work at whale sound, nic?

  7. Greg Sellers says:

    Nic,

    Here’s a link to a list of chapbook contests & publishers located at The Poetry Resource Page:

    http://www.poetryresourcepage.com/contests/ccontests.html

    Hope this helps.

    Btw, I can totally relate to your very last sentence.

    Wishing the best for baoba girl.

  8. jessiecarty says:

    Lots of good suggestions already on publishers I see! Congrats on pulling it all together. I’m thinking of printing my 2nd full length manuscript out again so I can hopefully finalize it. Every time I THINK it is final….I’m posting my list of places I still had pending to send to before my 3rd chapbook was picked up although I think yours is too short for Main Street :)

    Good luck with it!

    Camber
    Diagram
    Permafrost
    Spring Garden
    Main St Rag
    Black River
    Anabiosis
    Ropewalk
    Cervena Barva
    Jacar Press
    Copper Dillon

  9. Shelley says:

    9 out of 16 is marvelous!

    Maybe because I write about a topography shorn of trees, I love them more and more every day.

Leave a Reply

