Interview with Whale Sound poet – Kathleen Kirk

1. Please comment on the following:

a. The experience of hearing your poem on Whale Sound (WS): I love hearing your voice do my poem The Way Back, so thank you, thank you, thank you! Sometimes I come listen to it just to get chills. My friends love it, too. It was all so easy, as you recommended the poem you wanted to read, and I was delighted, considering it a sort of persona poem. That is, while I do love cemeteries and do shop for postage stamps, I tend not to get in cars* with possible serial killers. So hearing your voice create the character of the speaker was a thrill.

*Ask me how I met my husband. (It involved the words, “Get in.” I did not “get in.”)

b. The WS decision to focus only on web-active poets: It seems perfectly reasonable and appropriate to work with web-accessible poets and poems—to have the text available at an online magazine or blog helps draw attention to those ways of publishing or promoting poetry, and fits your own project, which is online. I think it also promotes hearing poems, and a collaboration among sites and venues that provide that. Being able to hear and see is good.

c. The WS third-party submissions policy: I love that we can recommend other poets/poems to you, and I’ve done so. Thank you, thank you, thank you for reading Ron Hardy’s A Wind Disorder in your lovely slightly eerie voice.

Anything else you’d like to say about the WS experience? All around, yours is a generous, friendly, exciting adventure. I feel honored to be a Whale Sound poet, and I have Whale Sound and Very Like a Whale in my blogroll, so anyone who stumbles on my blog can also stumble over to you!

About Kathleen Kirk.
Kathleen’s poem on Whale Sound: The Way Back

One thought on “Interview with Whale Sound poet – Kathleen Kirk

  1. Thanks so much! Again, for everything!

Leave a Reply

