Interview with Whale Sound poet – Collin Kelley

1. Please comment on the following:a. The experience of hearing your poem on Whale Sound (WS): I’ve heard other people interpret my work, including on my spoken word album HalfLife Crisis, but hearing After Adultery read in a lovely, lilting accent with a different cadence, rhythm and pronunciation was a revelation to me. And that revelation was that Nic Sebastian should read all my poetry.

b. The WS decision to focus only on web-active poets: I think Whale Sound’s decision to focus on web active poets is genius. Whether the academic types like it or not, the future of literary magazines and written poetry is on the web. The writing is on the wall…errr…iPad. The poets who are active online are dynamic, forward thinking writers and they have becoming savvy at finding readers and community.

c. The WS third-party submissions policy: I think it brings a bit of democracy to the table. People can nominate the poems and poets they love and it doesn’t turn into a narcissism fest.

2. What does WS do well? The site is elegantly simple, easy to navigate, easy to listen to and easy to share with others.

3. What could WS do better? I can’t think of anything at the moment. It seems to be going swimmingly. :)

4. Anything else you’d like to say about the WS experience? It really is a treat to get the email alerts and see who Whale Sound is featuring. Some of my favorite poets have been featured and I’m going to submit a few poets myself very soon. So watch out!

About Collin Kelley.
Collin’s poem on Whale Sound: After Adultery
More Whale Sound poet interviews

4 thoughts on “Interview with Whale Sound poet – Collin Kelley

  1. And I love these interviews, too.

    And Collin’s answer: that Nic Sebastian should read all my poems.

    And I would add this, as a web active poet, we all should add audio elements to our websites. It enhances the experience times a million.

Leave a Reply

