cockroaches & New Year’s Eve

Videopoeming is so in my air recently, thanks to Dave Bonta and Marc Neys. So when I found some awesomely creepy cockroach footage at the Prelinger Archives (thanks, Dave!) I KNEW I had to do something with it. The result is below. Pretty scatter-shot, I know. The Thomas Hardy poem comes right at the front of Vol 1 of the Norton Anthology’s third edition, so you can tell I didn’t look too far in my eagerness to find a poem for the footage. From there it was but a step to the NASA video gallery and even less of a step to Jamendo, the copyright-free music site Dave has pointed out. So here’s my newbie attempt at a videopoem:

10 thoughts on “cockroaches & New Year’s Eve

  1. Dave Bonta says:

    Brava! A great match, I think. And so often the best videopoems do come out of a sort of ekphrastic response, for me (have footage, need poem). As with Cynthia Cox’s recent efforts, this proves that one need not have fancy tools to make compelling videopoems. I look forward to your next experiments with great interest.

  2. Thanks for pulling together your great list of resources, Dave – there really is no excuse!

  3. Tru Dillon says:

    That was good. I like how sometimes the words in some strange way matched the activity of the roaches. I have done some of these videos myself and yours has really inspired me. Congrats on a job well done.

  4. Sharing immediately with a Hardy scholar!

  5. I really need to give this a try. Great resources!

  6. [...] She used some wonderfully creepy footage of cockroaches from the Prelinger Archives. She her blog post for more about her process. [...]

  7. Rici Moore says:

    The components came together compatibly. I enjoyed the whole.

Leave a Reply

