‘mrs death’

I don’t remember thinking about death one way or another when I was a child, so I have been surprised and curious about my sons’ attitudes toward death. When my older son was about seven, he developed a complete obsession with death and was forever making me take him to cemeteries all over the place. He eventually grew out of it. My younger son, now 12, seems by contrast to have a nonchalant, matter of fact and almost buddy-ish approach to the idea of death. Still working this one out, but this little piece recently showed up in the process:

4 thoughts on “‘mrs death’

  1. I like the surprising life in this poem, Nic! Have you heard of “death cafes?” There’s one where I live, here in Columbus. It’s an interesting concept: http://wosu.org/2012/news/2013/02/07/columbus-death-cafe-concept-spreads-across-u-s/

  2. jbrush says:

    Nice. I like that sun at the end. Mr. Life indeed, but a raging uncontrollable one.

Leave a Reply

