‘Metanoia Lost’ – process notes for a video remix


 
Poems on big metaphysical themes are some of the most rewarding to work as video remixes, because they leave the visual field wide open and give the remixer real opportunities to insert him or herself into a poem’s narrative and move it forward in complementary but different ways. This lovely poem by Risa Denenberg at The Poetry Storehouse was a case in point. I read it as beautifully capturing one of those devastating moments of big doubt we sometimes encounter.

Which is where it got personal. The belief I try to live by is that we are lying fallow during such bleak periods, and that, their awfulness notwithstanding, they are at the same time periods of underground preparation, restoration and growth. So I went with that approach. I thought rain, with its double connotation of weeping/mourning and of life-inspiring nature, was the perfect backdrop metaphor. I found two ‘rain’ clips that complemented each other once I gave them the same color filter and got a big thrill out of applying the ‘Ken Burns’ effect in my editing program to both. This handy capability makes it look as if a clip actually captured with a static camera was taken with a moving camera. As always, the gliding effect needs to be applied judiciously, but I felt it added just the right element of dynamism to the two background clips.

For the cross-fades, I chose images with very personal connotations for me, but which I thought added the right ‘universal’ overtones of the twin companions, loss and hope. All of them jumped out at me as being ‘right’ as I flipped through my clips library. Ending with the bear family at the end might perhaps be a more upbeat conclusion than originally intended in the piece, but the image was insistent, so I went with it. The soundtrack with its lonely piano and melancholy motif and underlying energy was by Mustafank and really felt like rain to me.

This was a lot of fun. Warm thanks once again to Risa for making her poems available for re-imagination by others at the Poetry Storehouse!

2 thoughts on “‘Metanoia Lost’ – process notes for a video remix

  1. […] for a Nic Sebastian remix of a Risa Denenberg poem, Metanoia […]

Leave a Reply

